

## TAAS Honors Researchers and Innovative Farmers who are Shaping the Future of Sustainable Agriculture

The Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS) organized its award ceremony on 20 December 2024 at the NAAS Auditorium at NASC, Pusa Campus in New Delhi. The event celebrated outstanding contributions to agricultural researchers and farmers, with a focus on food security and sustainable agriculture.

Hon'ble Former Union Cabinet Minister, Shri Suresh Prabhu graced the occasion as Chief Guest, and Dr Soumya Swaminathan, Chairperson of MSSRF, Chennai chaired the event. Padma Bhushan Awardee Dr Raj Paroda, Chairman of TAAS, and Former Secretary of DARE & DG of ICAR welcomed approximately 100 distinguished agricultural experts who attended the award function.





Shri Suresh Prabhu emphasized the vital role of innovative research in addressing food, nutritional, and environmental security holistically, stressing that all efforts should focus on the welfare of farmers. His address, which outlined clear strategies for sustainable agriculture, was highly appreciated by the audience. Dr Soumya Swaminathan highlighted the importance of solving farmers'

problems, connecting them to markets, providing timely inputs, and addressing human nutrition and health concerns.



## Dr MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture

Established in 2004 in honor of the late Dr MS Swaminathan, this prestigious annual award recognizes individuals who have made a global impact on agriculture, particularly in the areas of food security and sustainability.

## New Awards instituted by TAAS in 2024

In 2024, TAAS proudly instituted two new prestigious awards: (i) Dr SK Vasal Award for Excellence in Crop Hybrid Research, and (ii) Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award

## **Award Recipients**

The recipients of the Dr MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture for the years 2023 and 2024 were: Dr Kamal Bawa, FRS, Founder of the Ashoka Trust (2023) and Dr BM Prasanna, Director, Maize Program, CIMMYT, Kenya. Dr SK Vasal Award for Excellence in Crop Hybrid Research was conferred jointly on Dr Sujay Rakshit, Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Agricultural Biotechnology, Ranchi, and Dr Firoz Hosain, Principal Scientist, Division of Genetics, IARI, New Delhi. Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award was given to Mr Chandrashekhar H Bhadsavle, Managing Director, Saguna Sustainability Solutions Pvt Ltd, Raigad, Maharashtra.

TAAS Foundation Day Lecture entitled "Agriculture and Our Natural Heritage: A Homage to Dr MS Swaminathan" was also delivered by Dr Kamal Bawa, which was highly appreciated by the audience.



Dr Kamal Bawa receiving Dr MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture for the year 2023



Dr BM Prasanna receiving Dr MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture for the year 2024



Dr Sujay Rakshit and Firoz Hossain jointly receiving Dr SK Vasal Award for Excellence in Hybrid Crop Research (2024)



Mr Chandrashekhar H Bhadsavle receiving Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award (2024)



Awardees with Dr Raj Paroda, Dr Somya Swaminathan, Dr SK Vasal, Dr T Mohapatra, Dr BS Dhillon, Dr Bhag Mal and Dr JL Karihaloo