# Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS)

# **Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award**

#### **Award Guidelines**

#### **Preamble**

'Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award' has been instituted by the Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS) to honour theenormous contribution of Dr Norman E Borlaug to the global agricultural development and farmers' welfare. Dr Borlaug was a true friend of farmers of South Asia. who enthusiastically adopted high yielding wheat varieties and improved production technologies. The dedicated efforts of farmers together with mentoring of Dr Borlaug, Dr MS Swaminathan and many others ushered in the Green Revolution in India. This award is being instituted through an endowment established at TAAS by contributions made by the members of the TAAS.

# **Contributions of Dr Norman E Borlaug**

Dr Norman E Borlaug is globally known as the "Father of Green Revolution". He is the only agricultural scientist who received the Noble Peace Prize for his invaluable contributions in the field of agriculture. Dr Borlaug's always worked to eliminate hunger and ensure food security. He used selective breeding practices to develop a variety of wheat that resisted a devastating disease called stem rust. He developed high-yielding, fertilizer responsive, disease-resistant and widely adapted dwarf wheat varieties, which helped increase food production and laid the foundation for the 'Green Revolution' in many developing countries, especially India. He has been visiting and meeting Indian farmers regularly. He had been a source of inspiration to agricultural scientists and farmers alike.

His policy advocacy efforts had also promoted the use of agricultural biotechnology for increased crop yields and improved food security around the world. Dr Borlaug, was a Fellow of Science Academies of 15 countries, including the Indian National Science Academy and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, India. He was conferred honorary doctorate degree by 51 Universities from all over the world. For his contributions towards ensuring food security in India, Dr Borlaug was conferred with second highest civilian award, Padma Vibhushan by the Government of India in 2006. He was also the recipient of First Dr MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture instituted by TAAS.

#### **Objective of the Award**

The objective of 'Dr Norman E Borlaug Innovative Farmer Award' is to recognize the contribution of farmerswho have developed and successfully disseminated innovative technologies/practices that have led to significant increase in production/quality of the produce, improved income of innovation adopters along with reduction in environmental foot print. This award aims tomotivate the innovative farmers for dissemination of sustainable agricultural practices (SAP) to achieve the 'Evergreen

Revolution'ensuring long-term sustainable food and nutritional security in the wake of worseningclimate crisis.

### **Eligibility**

- The farmers (both women and men) in South Asia are eligible for the award.
- The claimed innovation comprising new agricultural technologies and practices must have been disseminated and yielded demonstrable impact as detailed under Selection Criteria.

#### **Description of the Award**

- The award consists of a cash prize of Rs. one lakh (Rs 100,000), a citation and the plaque.
- The award is to be given annually.

# **Procedure for application**

- Application for the award can be submitted by the applicant or by a nominator, the latter being a person of repute in the field of agricultural research/development.
- A hard and soft copy of the completed application must be submitted in the prescribed form (attached) by the due date as announced by TAAS.
- The application must be recommended by the nominator / a reputed institution engaged in agriculture research/development/education/policy advocacy, and familiar with applicant's work.
- Application will be valid only for the year for which applied.

#### **Selection Criteria**

The selection committee will evaluate the nominations based on the following criteria:

- **Innovation:** Demonstrated innovation on sustainable agricultural practices that addresses the critical agricultural challenge in the region challenge in their region.
- **Leadership:** Has actively shared knowledge and skills for scaling innovations and empower farming community using innovative extension.
- **Impact:** Evidence of successful adoption and dissemination of the innovation among other farmers, leading to measurable improvements in agricultural productivity/quality of produce, income and environmental impact.

#### **Selection Procedure**

- Selection of the Awardee will be made by a committee of experts constituted by the Board of Trustees of TAAS.
- The recommendations of the Selection Committee, once approved by the Board of Trustees, shall be final.

# **Application be sent to:**

The Secretary, Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS), Avenue II, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Pusa Campus, New Delhi -

110012 Phone: +91-11-25843243; +91-8130111237 Email:

taasiari@gmail.com