taas Progress Through Science

Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS)

Announcement

Nominations are invited for 15th Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture

The Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS) had instituted in 2004 an Award in the honor of our leading agricultural scientist, Prof. M.S. Swaminathan. This prestigious Award is given annually to an eminent scientist for his/her outstanding life time achievement in the field of agriculture and allied fields in India and abroad.

The first recipient of the Award was Nobel Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, and it was given by the Former Hon'ble President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam in March, 2005. The Second Award was presented to another distinguished scientist and World Food Laureate, Dr. G.S. Khush, by the Former Hon'ble Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, during the International Rice Congress held in New Delhi in October, 2006. The other recipients of the Award were: Dr. S.K. Vasal, a distinguished scientist in the field of Quality Protein Maize (QPM) and also World Food laureate; Dr. Rattan Lal, a renowned Soil Scientist and Director of Carbon Management and Sequestration Center at Ohio State University and a World Food Laureate; Dr. Sanjay Rajaram, an Eminent Wheat Breeder and also a World Food Laureate; Dr. M.C. Saxena, former Assistant Director General, ICARDA, and a leading agronomist; Dr. William D. Dar, former Director General, International Crop Research Institute for Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT); Dr. Thomas Lumpkin, former Director General, CIMMYT, Mexico; Dr. (Ms.) Uma Lele, former Senior Advisor, World Bank, Dr. John Dixon, former Senior Advisor, ACIAR, Australia, Dr Shenggen Fan, Former Director General, IFPRI, Dr. Adel El-Beltagy, former Director General, ICARDA and Dr Suri Sehgal, Founder of S M Sehgal Foundation (India) and Sehgal Foundation (USA). The name of Dr Kamaljit S Bawa, President, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE), Bengaluru, India has been announced for the Award for 2023 which will be conferred on him sometime during 2024. Further details of previous awards and citations of awardees are available on the weblink https://www.taas.in/what-we-do- award.html.

TAAS takes this opportunity to seek fresh nominations of eminent persons for the 15th Dr. M.S. Swminathan Award, latest by 31st May, 2024 in the prescribed proforma available at weblink https://www.taas.in/documents/mssa-nomination-form.docx, either by email or hard copy through registered post/courier. The guidelines for submitting nominations are available at weblink https://www.taas.in/documents/mssa-guidelines.pdf. your networks.

Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS)

Avenue II, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI)

Pusa Campus, New Delhi – 110012

Email: <u>taasiari@gmail.com</u> Website: <u>www.taas.in</u>